The Future of the Wolf Packs

Periodically, readers ask questions about the future of the Quileute wolves, so I thought I’d share something I wrote about that topic in an earlier comment.

From Lynette: Do Nessie and Jacob live together forever? I know you mention that Nessie cannot die, but what about her daughter Sarabel and Jacob, can they live forever?

From Vsis:  Do you see Sarabel and any offspring Leah and Fenix may have imprinting on each other, bringing both packs together again?

In my view of the Twilight universe, the answer to all three questions is Yes. As we know, the larger the pack becomes, the more unwieldy and difficult it is to manage. However, as time goes on and the Cullens move away from Forks, the wolves who have imprinted on non-wolves (Sam, Quil, and Paul, among others) will want to start aging again in order to spend their natural lifespans with their human mates. So they will choose to stop phasing, and gradually, the number of wolves will decline.

When the vampires have left the area and the only vampire blood Quileute teenagers are exposed to is Sarabel’s or Renesmee’s diluted versions, fewer youths will phase and a smaller, combined wolf pack will be reestablished with Jacob Black as its leader. Since the wolf gene seeks to perpetuate itself, Leah and Fenix’s children are likely to imprint on other descendants in the tribe who carry the wolf gene.

Jacob Black will not stop phasing because he wants to live as long as forever with Renesmee if he can. Their daughter Sarabel will never be able to stop phasing because her own vampire blood “irritates” her wolf blood. That makes her potentially immortal as well, though both Jacob and Sarabel, like all the wolves, can die if they are injured badly enough.

Jacob will remain the tribal chief and pack leader for as long as he stays in the La Push/Forks area. If and when he leaves with Renesmee, Sarabel will take his place. Sarabel is unlikely ever to bear children because she cannot stop phasing long enough to become fertile, the dilemma that Leah encountered in Breaking Dawn after she began to phase. The Black line of wolves will continue, though, through Jacob’s sister, Rachel, who marries Paul.

Thanks to all the readers for asking such interesting questions. -PAL

About PA Lassiter

P.A. Lassiter is a multi-published author currently writing a series of novels set in rural Kentucky. Late at night she impersonates Edward Cullen at Twilight: The Missing Pieces.
This entry was posted in Extras, Jacob, Renesmee, Requests, Vampire Biology, Wish List, Wolves and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Future of the Wolf Packs

  1. Silvi says:

    Hey PAL.
    I’ve been following this page of yours since months (the day i came to know Edward’s pov exists somewhere ❤ ). First of all, lots of blessings n love for satifsying our souls to actually read the love Edward had for bella (n not just imagining and dreaming about it). I was broken wen midnight sun ended abruptly, and i found new life when i saw the complete series here. I dont have words to explain my gratefulness for you.
    I m a follower of twilight since eclipse was released n living in that world since then, here in India. I never liked reading novels, and frankly speaking, twilight is the only novel i hv ever read with no other plans in future.
    You wrote a lot more further.. Felt like the series is not over yet.
    I literally beg you to please continue writing twilight. Its like air.. We need it!
    I know it must sound impossible to write in such depth (hats off to that talent of yours).. But please.. Please.. Just write more.. May be one chapter every week or something.. I am ready to read twilight all my life..
    (I sound like a desparate reader, but the way you write, i feel its Edward only..)
    Thanks a ton for the generous job you have done already..

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      It’s very sweet of you to ask. Unfortunately, writing these stories takes a lot of time and I cannot be paid for them as I don’t own the copyright to the Twilight world. I’ve done the work here out of love, but I’ve had to move on to original work that I can get paid for. Since I’ve been away from it for quite a while, I’ve also lost a lot of the knowledge needed to reproduce the world correctly. That’s why it’s unlikely that I’ll come back and write more stories. It’s a big time and energy commitment.
      All the best, -PAL

      Like

      • Silvi says:

        I can understand.. That means the world has come to an end again.. 😦
        But best of luck for your novels.. I know you are a talented writer with limitless imagination.. I wish you get all what you deserve.. All the best 🙂

        Like

  2. Marie Simay says:

    Few years ago you posted a link for an another author who wrote from Edward pov. Would you please email it to me. Thanks
    Marie.

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi Marie,
      I can’t seem to find the reference you’re looking for, even after checking through my blog entries. I did notice about a year ago, though, that most of the fan fiction links I have previously posted on this website are no longer active. The authors seem to move on frequently, or they pull their free offerings for one reason or another, or they create a new website. You might try searching for the group “An Archive of Our Own”, which keeps track of various fan fiction offerings. I haven’t kept up with the cataloguing efforts myself. Best of luck! -PAL

      Like

  3. Jakuma Petod Elrond says:

    This is a fascinating glimpse into a possible future for the Quileute wolves, and I thank you for crafting it. At the end of it though, you state that the Black line of wolves would be continued by the descendants of Rachel (Jacob’s sister), and Paul who imprinted on her. I absolutely agree that Rachel and Paul’s children will carry the wolf gene. But there is something missing here, namely that Rachel’s twin sister Rebecca, who married the Hawaiian guy, is also Jacob’s sister and a daughter of Billy Black, which means that just like her twin sister Rachel, Rebecca is also a carrier of the Quileute wolf gene, and that she will pass on this gene to her descendants as well. There is nothing in the Quileute legends that says that, a female carrier of the wolf gene, must bear children for a wolf, in order to pass on the gene, for just as a human female with a recessive gene for blue eyes, may still pass on that gene to the child of a man with brown eyes, and have that gene become dominant (i.e. active/expressive) in the child of the brown eyed father, so also a Quileute woman with a recessive wolf gene, may still give birth to a son with an active/expressive wolf gene, even though she bore the child, for a non Quileute man. If you do a hereditary/genetics diagram (i.e. a Pinot Square) pertaining to this matter, you will see that Rebecca’s sons could become wolves, just the same as Rachel’s sons. Although it is true that Rachel’s kids will have a greater chance of transforming into wolves than Rebecca’s, because their Dad Paul was a wolf.

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Clearly, I did not think this through as thoroughly as you have! My hat is off to you for so thoughtfully analyzing the genetics of the wolf tribe. I love reading about the science. Thank you for enlightening us. 🙂 -PAL

      Like

  4. Alliya says:

    Hey PAL I am very grateful to you that you have extended the initial twilight story so well and satisfied my yearning to read more about the twilight saga . I am really curious to know more about the Volturi , Mike , Angela and Ben.

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi Alliya,
      Thanks for commenting. I’m not currently writing more futuristic material, though I may take it up at a later time. If you haven’t read the Private Diary of EAC, you can find quite a few stories about different Twilight characters there. Of the ones you mention, I haven’t written much, but Julie Vans wrote one future story about Mike which you can find on the Twenty Years On page. It’s the first story called “Meeting Mike.” -PAL

      Like

  5. shannon grace Johnson says:

    Im so happy for you and your new book! I live in Fort Myers FLORIDA have i missed the launch

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      I thought I saw some interesting Floridian posts cross your FB feed, and that made me wonder. 🙂 So we are neighbors! You haven’t missed the book launch. We postponed it for a few weeks so that my agent/manager can attend. She had some unexpected medical issues arise (not serious, but pressing). In the meantime, I’ve been talking about the book, which was already scheduled for production and printing, but it’s not officially released yet. Shhh, don’t tell anyone. 😉 -PAL

      Like

  6. Samuel Brewer says:

    (I’m not sure why I can’t reply directly to your last message, so I’ll just post this as a new comment instead.)

    That’s fantastic news! It seems as if you will have a busy couple of months ahead of you. It’s exciting to hear that things are working for you. It’s great to be a fan and feel like you’re a part of the whole process, even if it’s indirectly. Although the chances of me being able to make it to Florida are one in a million, I still wish you the best of luck with your launch party. I’m sure that by now you’ve already delivered your manuscript. I will be eagerly awaiting the book’s release.

    The pleasure of asking is all mine, but you are very welcome. Shh! I thought we weren’t supposed to mention that to the readers! 😉

    Regards,
    Samuel Brewer

    Like

  7. Samuel Brewer says:

    I must say, reading your books has been a captivating experience. I’m constantly impressed with the quality of these stories. Your writing is quite extensive and detailed. I am by no means saying your work is perfect, but you have real talent. I am extremely glad that you decided to undertake the daunting task of writing through Edward’s eye. You not only wrote all four books, but you went above and beyond that by writing a plethora of extras for all of us Twilight enthusiasts. I sincerely thank you for your willingness to provide to the community, for the entertainment you’ve given us all, and the time that you spent making this happen.

    Regards,
    Samuel Brewer

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi Samuel,
      Thank you for your note. You are most welcome. I started writing Edward’s point-of-view to relieve my disappointment at the gap left by the half-finished Midnight Sun. Then I realized that other people probably felt as I did and so I created this website to share the work. All this writing has helped me to hone my skills, and I’ve just had my first novel, The Snake Handler’s Daughter, accepted for publication. I’m thrilled about that and appreciative of the encouragement I received from all the readers here on the website. –Phoebe Ann Lassiter

      Like

      • Samuel Brewer says:

        Yes, I’ve heard news of your book. I simply cannot wait to purchase it. If it is of the same quality as the work you’ve done here, it will be much worth the read. However, I imagine it will be even better than that. Do you have an estimate as to when it will be available commercially?

        Regards,
        Samuel Brewer

        Like

        • PA Lassiter says:

          Yes! I received word yesterday that the book will be “fast-tracked” at my publishing house (The New Atlantian Library) and should be available in both ebook and print form in “about a month,” as the publisher said. We will have to work hard to turn it around that quickly, but I’m guessing six weeks at the outside. We are currently planning a launch party in Key West, Florida (if you can believe it), and we’ll need books for that. The exact release date is yet to be announced. I must deliver my final manuscript today! I think you’ll find the writing quality to be at a higher level than my work here because I took the time to write, rewrite, and hone it over three years, the same amount of time it took to produce all the material on this website.

          I’ll share details about the book’s publication here as soon as I know more. Thanks for asking. It’s almost like I paid you. 😉 -PAL

          Like

Please Comment Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.