One Million Strong

This week when I wasn’t paying attention, the number of views on the Twilight: The Missing Pieces website reached, then quickly surpassed, 1,000,000. Whoa! Most of us author bloggers are happy if we ever reach 10,000, so seeing 100 times that many views is both mind-boggling and thrilling. On this blog, readers who click in generally read 2 to 3 files per visit. Some people read ten, some no doubt click away immediately, but I know that many of you have come back time and time again to revisit the Twilight world from Edward Cullen’s point-of-view.

I wrote as Edward nearly every day for two years, then less often for another year, and now nearly one year beyond that, it’s enormously gratifying that people are still enjoying the work and have a place to come to extend their Twilight experience. I’m with you in that, as I reread one book or another or stories from Edward’s diaries myself every few months. My deepest thanks go to Stephenie Meyer for giving us such a rich world to play in that continues to delight as the Twilight phenomenon fades from the spotlight.

In the last five months, though, I’ve been focused exclusively on editing my novel The Snake Handler’s Daughter (formerly titled Miss Martha Browne). Creating an entirely new world of fictional characters is a much bigger job than writing fanfiction, and my learning curve has been high (meaning 1000s of hours spent). The novel is finally coming together, a tale of one woman’s last-ditch quest for love in the most inappropriate way imaginable. It’s humorous and tragic and examines the lengths to which we all might go for love. I’m working hard on it and hope to publish it in the coming months, after which I plan a few more Twilight stories for the Twenty Years On page. I hope you’ll stick around.

But mostly, today–on the occasion of this big blog milestone–I wanted to reach out after some months of silence to send a great big THANK YOU to all of you who have shared this Twilight journey with me. Writing for people who are eager to read your words is the greatest joy any writer can have.

As for future work, this is where I’ll announce it, here at the blog. This is also where I’ll be posting excerpts, short stories, and other freebies that might come along. I’m in this writing thing for the long haul, one way or another.

Thank you, my friends,
Phoebe Ann Lassiter

About PA Lassiter

P.A. Lassiter is a multi-published author currently writing a series of novels set in rural Kentucky. Late at night she impersonates Edward Cullen at Twilight: The Missing Pieces.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Blog, Milestones, News, PAL's Novels, Stephenie Meyer, Twenty Years On, Website and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to One Million Strong

  1. dj says:

    I aspire to be laconic but your comment about commenters being loved just a little bit more motivated me. Keep up the Great Work!!

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Commenters are loved a little more only because their comment lets me know they’re there. Otherwise, all I see are statistics, no people. Thanks for your comment, DJ! 😉 -PAL
      p.s. I must be a professional writer because I used “their,” “there,” and “they’re” all in one sentence! (Kids, don’t try this at home. Ha!)

      Like

  2. sunsetpines says:

    My dear friend PAL….congrats!!!! I know I account for a whole lot of those page views… giggle…
    Your writing is beautiful, your spirit shines brightly, and I’m thrilled to call you a friend! Let me know when you’re close again…I think it’s time for more lunch and wine and visits with fuzzy little white friend!!! xoxoxoxo,
    Heidi

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Heidi, you will be at the top of my list when we travel to your side of the country again! I’ve got Alice in the shower right now, so I think of you every day. 🙂 Love you too, my amazingly talented soap-and-lotion-making friend. You’ve enriched my life more than you know. Check her out, y’all, at Sunset Pines Naturals. Heidi’s Twilight soaps are the only soaps I use. I can sniff Edward any time I want to… -PAL

      Like

  3. Martha Cherneske says:

    Hello, Ms Lassiter
    I first want to congratulate you on your milestone … what a wonderful achievement! And this, on top of having completed what Stephanie Meyer would not. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for doing this amazing thing, and for continuing the saga!
    I didn’t become a Twi-hard until early last year. I know, a bit of a late-comer! But …. I am hooked … completely …. hook, line, sinker and every scrap of detail I can get my hands and eyes on.
    I live in Victoria, BC … a beautiful place just across the strait from Port Angeles, the Olympic Mountains (we see them almost every day), and just a short ferry ride to all these exciting places mentioned in the books. I recently took myself on a quick sojourn to see Forks, LaPush & the amazing beaches there. I stayed in a lodge in the middle of the Olympic National Forest, and hiked trails to falls, and amazing locations throughout the area. What a truly magical place!
    I am a huge Edward fan … he has such morals …. and he chose his mate well. They each (and all of the Cullens) deserve to have their stories told and re-defined.
    They will live on through your insight and perseverance. Please continue to create your wonderful stories … I look forward to more from you in this story-line, and in others as you write. I am becoming a rather big fan of yours, all because you had the courage to take up pen and complete a love story.
    Much thanks!
    Martha C.

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi Martha,
      What a lovely comment. Thank you for taking the time to write it. One of the reasons the Twilight books touched me so much is that I lived in the Seattle area for 18 years and, like you, am very familiar with the enchanting mountains and forests of the Pacific Northwest. I haven’t been all the way to La Push, though I may be back in that area soon and traveling the Olympic Peninsula loop is still on my to-do list. I love the region, including Victoria and Vancouver. My boyfriend is a native from Cowichan Island, which I’m sure you know of, so in a way, I have as much of a connection to Jacob as to Edward. 🙂

      As for future stories, Julie Vans has drafted a new one about Charlie and we’ll be working together on it in the coming weeks, as soon as I finish this editing round on my book. Then we want to write a series of stories to “finish off” the Cullens’ tale, providing something of an end point for their “happily ever afters.” Coincidentally, the main character in my first novel is named Martha. XO, -PAL

      Like

  4. woodymac1012 says:

    I for one keep coming back constantly , I think since I found your site this is my 6th time of reading the books . I can’t even read miss Meyers versions now because they are so so much better from Edwards pov you certainly gave your site the right name because it’s on here all the missing pieces are found and much more besides . Phoebe you really are an amazing author and I can’t wait to read your work , the one thing I really wish is that you could have had some recompense for the absolutely amazing job you did for the Edwards pov books , I will never stop telling people about this amazing site and I wish you success in all your future wrings .

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Gosh, I am so touched, and so very pleased that you’ve found enjoyment from my work. Thank you, truly. xx, -PAL

      Like

      • woodymac1012 says:

        Hi pal I don’t know why I couldn’t post in my name I have 2 fb accounts and since I’ve got my I pad mini my accounts are mixed up lol but if you see woodymac1012in a comment it’s Bridie Mcellin haha and I am spreading the word about your site far and wide because you are a brilliant writer , just thought I would let you know lol keep up the amazing work .

        Like

        • PA Lassiter says:

          Hi Bridie! Guess what? I knew that was you. No fibbing. 🙂 As the moderator of this blog, I get to see the name you enter, but also other names (such as your email) associated with your comment. I recognized Bridie from the googlemail.com address. I didn’t mention it in case you were trying to remain anonymous to respect your (and others’) privacy. But yes, frequently, I can tell who people are even if they post under another name. We’ll just keep that a secret between you and me, though, ‘kay? 😉 -PAL
          p.s. Thank you!

          Like

  5. JulieVans says:

    Amazing, Phoebe. Absolutely wonderful news. You know what that means? Viewership of your blog has doubled since I first came here. Back then it was around 500,000. I remembered feeling highly intoxicated by your genius interpretation of Edward and came back like an addict.

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Wow, thanks so much for that perspective, Julie. Numbers used to go up a lot faster when the only way to read the files was one-by-one directly off the website, but surprisingly, posting the single-file PDFs for download hasn’t slowed traffic all that much. I can only assume that there are just so many of us Twi-lovers in the world, and that we’re still in love.
      I was so fortunate the day you wandered onto my website too. You’ve been nothing but a joy to work with, JACanter.com. xx, PAL

      Like

  6. Sandy Coury says:

    Well-deserved congratulations and BIG THANKS for allowing us to share your excellent work! Looking forward to purchasing the Snake Handler’s Daughter!

    Like

  7. hithycat says:

    Dear Phoebe –
    The ‘average visit clicking in 2 or 3 files” cannot be remotely accurate: I have downloaded ALL of your Missing Pieces and read it OFTEN. You are incredible and I am thrilled you hit 1 mil.
    I am going to check out your recent writings as well.
    Much gratitude,
    – j

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi there! Thank you for letting me know! You are right, of course. To clarify (a little), WordPress counts a “view” each time someone looks at a website page (the Midnight Sun or the Eclipse contents page, for example) or a blog post. A typical reader might look at a couple of pages, then start opening chapter files (a dozen for Midnight Sun or over 55 for Breaking Dawn). That would count as only two views. They might come back the next day and look at only the Eclipse page, but open 20 files as they read. That would count as one view. Or they might download all the books in one day for a total of only 4 to 6 “views” counted, then reread the books ten times on their own device offline.

      So the number of “views” on a website doesn’t tell us all that much, except that right now, 1500 to 2000 of them are still happening every day and roughly 2500 to 3000 files (book chapters, for those reading them from the website) are being opened every day too. I have no way to know if these are new readers or all of my old friends coming back over and over. It doesn’t really matter, in a way, as you are all equally loved. 🙂 -PAL

      p.s. Okay, to be honest, commenters are loved just a little bit more. 🙂

      Like

Please Comment Here

