50 Shades of Twilight

For the last week or so, I have been consumed by the e-book phenomenon of E.L. James’ trilogy 50 Shades of Grey. Originally, Ms. James’ books were fan fiction efforts based on Twilight and somewhere along the way, she altered them enough to be published as original novels. For now, they are still only available as e-books, but last I heard, the novels were #1, #3, & #4 on Amazon’s best-sellers list.

Why is this interesting? Three reasons:
1) Twilight fans will recognize nearly every scene in these lengthy novels, which is a lot of fun because they’ve been moved around into a different story line and it’s fun to play “find the meadow scene” or “which character is which?”
2) “Christian Grey” is the human alter-ego of our favorite vampire, Edward. He’s as rich and as powerful as Bill Gates, as beautiful as Edward Cullen, and as dangerous to “Anastasia Steele” as Edward is to Bella. He’s terrified that what he wants to do to her will cause him to lose her. Like our own Edward, “Christian” is highly appealing, with a serious dark side, but with the soul of an angel hidden somewhere deep inside.
3) The novels have real sex…LOTS of real sex…and it is explicit, way kinky, and intensely erotic. Gatorade is probably your best choice of beverage to drink as you read. I’m just sayin’.

I was expecting a Twilight ripoff when I started the trilogy, and to be honest, the first seventy pages or so are not well-written and bored me mightily. But as the story continued, the tale permuted, turned in on itself, and morphed into its own tale in its own world. These are E.L. James’ first novels and I can relate to how one’s writing improves with practice. Altogether, the three books have some 1100 pages, so if you like them, there’s plenty to keep you occupied for quite a while.

This version of Edward, like the original himself, touched my soul, made me giggle, made me cry, gave me nightmares, kept me awake all night more than once, and well…wound me up tightly. All the books are NC-17 in content, with extremely explicit sex, so they’re not for everybody, but the intricate psychological drama that unfolds is in many ways, more compelling even than the sexy sex.

I have no doubt that reading these books will affect my own writings for the near future. “My Secret Garden” in the Private Diary of EAC was inspired by 50 Shades of Grey as is “My Year As A Sex Slave.”

PAL

About PA Lassiter

P.A. Lassiter is a multi-published author currently writing a series of novels set in rural Kentucky. Late at night she impersonates Edward Cullen at Twilight: The Missing Pieces.
This entry was posted in Edward's Diary, Extras, News, Sex, Shop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 50 Shades of Twilight

  1. Tina says:

    PAL
    I couldn’t agree more with your assessment of 50 Shades. Bad writing seems to be a right of passage for a first book (been there!), as I found books 2 and 3 a little more coherent. Still wish a good editor would get their hands on it, however…
    TMT

    Like

    • palassiter says:

      Me too. Drives me crazy if I think about it. But I’m still marveling, actually, that she came out of nowhere with such a compelling story! Just think what it could have been… PAL

      Like

  2. Ins says:

    I’ve read the Fifty Shades trilogy and I love it! However, I find your writing and style much better. I love love LOVE what you did with Twilight, I mean writing from Edwards point of view.
    I’m soooooooo hoping you’ll do the same with the Fifty Shades. I’d love to read the story from Christian’s point of view. At the end of the last book the auther wrote “Thats all…for now” So I’m assuming she’ll either write from Christians pov since thats how she ended the book, or continue the story. I’m hoping the first.
    But what I’m trying to say is: are you going to do a Christian’s pov or missing pieces on the Fifty Shades trilogy?
    I love your work! Greetings all the way from Holland!!

    Like

    • palassiter says:

      Hi Ins!
      Somebody else just asked this question elsewhere on the website, so I’m reposting the answer I gave her:

      I don’t have any plans to do so, no. One reason is that it would be a huge project; another is that Christian is already pretty easy to read, what he’s thinking, what he’s going to do, so I don’t know that it would be all that interesting to write or read. That said, there are some stories that I’d like to know about, for instance, what happened between he and Elena? That particular story would require me to get inside the head of a female dominatrix and a male submissive. I’ve been reading in the genre of BDSM lately (see ), but everything I’ve seen has the opposite configuration. So this would be a research project and won’t happen any time soon, but it’s a possibility at some point.

      Let me add here that I think EL James probably was telling her fanfiction fans that maybe she would continue writing her online story at some point, but now that it’s been turned into a book and published and will be made into a movie, I rather doubt if she’ll continue it. What I mean is, I think that message was for her online fans originally. But I could be wrong! PAL
      p.s. Another fan from Holland sent me the Dutch version of Bree Tanner and I can’t read a word of it!

      Like

  3. Rach says:

    Lol! At the end of MOTU it has a couple of chapters from Edwards POV but think you could write it a lot better! I agree though that the research would be exhausting….

    If you want me to email you the fan fiction, let me know. As I do prefer the Twilight links in it. 🙂

    Like

  4. Rach says:

    I’ve read The Master Of The Universe which is the original fan fiction, and loved it! It had me gripped for 2 days, fab book!

    Maybe that could be your next project, from Edwards pov again?! 😉

    Look forward to more of your chapters in Edwards Diary.

    Xxx

    Like

    • palassiter says:

      That’s so funny, Rachel, because believe it or not, it’s gone through my mind more than once. I’m afraid the research could kill me, though! 😉 Thanks for noting the title here…I didn’t know it. I do believe E.L. James is from England, though. She needs a good American editor with Seattle-area experience to fix some of the language translations and a few of the regional details and I’d be happy to do that for her if someone asked me! (I wish Americans did know the word “gobsmacked.” It’s such a handy word!) PAL

      Like

Please Comment Here

