The Masen House

Ever wonder how Edward grew up in Chicago? Here are photos of the family house which he inherits from himself every twenty-five or thirty years. It is located on N. Dearborn Parkway.

Masen House Exterior

Foyer

Front Parlor

Morning Room

Sitting Room

Front Hall

Library

Dining Room

Breakfast Room

Edward's Room

Front Entry

About PA Lassiter

P.A. Lassiter is a multi-published author currently writing a series of novels set in rural Kentucky. Late at night she impersonates Edward Cullen at Twilight: The Missing Pieces.
This entry was posted in Chicago, Edward's Room, Masen, Masen House, Missing Pieces, Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Masen House

  1. Abby says:

    lol I live a block from that house, now every time I pass I think of Edward

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Really?? That is so funny! I tend to do a lot of research and when I was placing Edward in his childhood neighborhood, I visited a local realty website to find images of houses in the area. I adored the interior of this house and it let me imagine Edward in a real place. The reach of the internet is amazing. 🙂 -PAL

      Like

  2. sarah says:

    Wow!!!! This is just fabulous……..Superb creativity…I love this…and most of all I LOVE YOU….!!!
    Thank you soooo much for doing this and writing this…THANK YOU…..!!!!!!

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi Sarah!
      I absolutely fell in love with this house. When I started writing New Moon: Edward (have you read that one?), I had Edward driving across the country, and since he’s from Chicago, I wanted to write something about that. My research (of real-estate-for-sale websites) showed me this house in a ritzy downtown Chicago neighborhood that seemed perfectly suited to a wealthy lawyer like Edward’s father. So, I built it into his world. That’s also when I found out about the surgical museum that actually exists on the Chicago waterfront and all of Carlyle’s history tied right into that as well. I’m glad you like the house. 🙂 -PAL

      Like

      • sarah says:

        That was great PAL, and yeah i read new moon but i din’t read the middle part where edward and bella gets seperated…..I don’t like that part of the story…m sure it will make me sick if i’ll read it…i din’t read that part of Stephenie Meyer’s book also…but thanks for the info..Love you..:-)

        Like

  3. CJ says:

    Amazing detail you have textured into the storyline!

    Like

  4. alima says:

    This website is awsome and very detailed! i love it to bits..and i keep on reading the books…thank you soo much..! and i was just curious…the pictures how did you find the correct house that fitted the description of the masen house you described in the book..? 😉

    Like

    • PA Lassiter says:

      Hi Alima,
      What a fun question! Nobody’s asked that before, and I have a very specific answer. I’ve learned through hard experience that you must research first and write second, especially if you are describing a place, because finding the exact picture you want afterwards is well nigh impossible. Plus, the pictures serve as inspiration for the writing. So when I started writing about Chicago and where Edward’s family might have lived, I read history, researched downtown neighborhoods, then perused realty websites looking for homes for sale of the right vintage. (A secret writer’s trick. :-)) This house was listed for sale, and it seemed perfect for Edward Masen, Sr. who was a lawyer. I love the woodwork, especially, and the tower. PAL

      Like

      • alima says:

        i sure will be using the trick 😉 but it seems like you went through so much to write the books…and i think everyone would like to say thank you! your books are incredible! 😉

        Like

        • PA Lassiter says:

          Thank you, Alima. I approached writing Edward’s version of Twilight as I would approach writing any novel. Lots of research is key to making fiction come alive, and it was good practice for writing my own novels too. PAL

          Like

  5. Sandy says:

    Thanks for adding this lovely architectural detail to Edward’s story!

    Like

Please Comment Here

